Esc

Comparison

Aev Word vs Microsoft Word

Aev Word is a Windows word processor bought once that opens Word, OpenDocument, RTF, Markdown and HTML files and keeps them on your computer. Microsoft Word comes with a Microsoft 365 subscription or the one-time Office Home 2024, runs on more platforms and has a longer feature history.

Reviewed

At a glance

Aev WordMicrosoft Word
Pricing modelOne-time licence, permanent for the major version bought, with maintenance updates for that version.Included in Microsoft 365 subscriptions, or in the one-time purchase Office Home 2024.
PlatformsWindows 10 or Windows 11, 64-bitMicrosoft 365: PCs, Macs, phones and tablets. Office Home 2024: 1 PC or Mac.
Offline accessAev Word works with no internet connection. Documents are ordinary files on your computer; nothing is uploaded to an Aevornix server.The desktop apps are fully installed on the computer, so Word, Excel and PowerPoint can be used without an internet connection.
Where data is keptFiles and data stay on your computer; no Aevornix server.Microsoft 365 Personal includes 1 TB of OneDrive cloud storage; Office Home 2024 includes no cloud storage.
AccountNo Aevornix account.A Microsoft account is needed to install and manage a Microsoft 365 subscription.
OpensDOCX, ODT, RTF, Markdown, HTMLNot stated
ExportsPDFNot stated
Linked tablesA range copied from Aev Book pastes in as a linked table that refreshes when the workbook changes.Not stated

Microsoft Word facts from microsoft.com/en-gb/microsoft-365/buy/compare-all-microsoft-365-products, checked 2026-09-26. Aevornix facts from the product pages on this site. Check the vendor's own site for current terms before deciding.

Pricing model

Microsoft offers Word inside Microsoft 365 subscriptions, and inside Office Home 2024, a one-time purchase for one PC or Mac. Aev Word is a one-time licence under the Aevornix licence tiers, and it is also part of the Aevornix Suite.

Platforms and account

Microsoft Word runs on PCs, Macs, phones and tablets under Microsoft 365, and a Microsoft account is used to install and manage the subscription. Aev Word runs on Windows 10 and 11 (64-bit) and needs no account.

Documents and file support

Aev Word handles styles, tables, images, headers, footers and comments, and autosaves with recovery. It opens DOCX files, so existing Word documents carry across, and exports PDF for sharing.

Import fidelity is still being worked on, so a document with complex layout, fields or macros may not look the same as it does in Word. Test your own templates before switching a team over.

Where each fits

  • Microsoft Word fits people who co-author in real time, use Word on a Mac or phone, or depend on advanced Word features and add-ins.
  • Aev Word fits people on Windows who write reports, letters and documents alone or pass files around, and want no subscription and no account.

Moving across

Open existing DOCX files directly in Aev Word. Keep a PDF export of anything that must look exact. If you already own Office Home 2024, the practical difference is platform reach against account and storage choices rather than cost; see subscription and perpetual licensing.

Frequently asked questions

Can Aev Word open DOCX files?

Yes, along with ODT, RTF, Markdown and HTML. Exports are PDF.

Does Aev Word support real time co-authoring?

No. Collaboration is still in development. Documents are files you share by email, drive or shared folder.

Is Aev Word sold on its own?

Yes, and it is also included in the Aevornix Suite with five other applications.

Cart